Photo of Lisa Wells

Frequently Asked Questions About DUI In Georgia

Facing charges of driving under the influence (DUI) in Georgia can be daunting. However, working with an attorney can help answer some common questions you may be having.

Will I lose my license if I’m arrested for a DUI in Georgia?

In Georgia, you will receive an administrative license suspension (ALS) immediately upon your arrest. This ALS occurs immediately, and you’ll need to request an ALS hearing within 30 days to challenge the suspension. You may be off the road for a year or more if you fail to request this hearing.

What penalties can I expect for a first-time DUI conviction?

For a first-time DUI offense in Georgia, penalties can include:

  • Fines
  • License suspension
  • Community service
  • Counseling
  • Jail time

The penalty’s severity depends on various factors, including blood alcohol concentration (BAC) level and any prior DUI offenses. Georgia’s legal BAC is 0.08% for people over 21 years but for commercial drivers, the BAC limit is 0.04%.

What does “implied consent” mean for the purposes of drunk driving in Georgia?

In Georgia, implied consent means that by operating a motor vehicle on the state’s roads, you have already consented to chemical testing (breath, blood or urine) during a DUI stop.

Refusal to submit to testing can result in administrative penalties like license suspension, as you will be violating the implied consent law.

What types of field sobriety tests can I expect to take?

Law enforcement officers in Georgia commonly administer standardized field sobriety tests (SFSTs) approved by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). These tests may include the horizontal gaze nystagmus (HGN), walk-and-turn and one-leg stand tests. You are under no obligation to participate in these tests, and doing so is more likely to hurt than help.

Get A Former Prosecutor On Your Side

If you or your loved one has received a DUI charge in Marietta, Georgia and Cobb County, the best course of action is to consult an attorney. Call Lisa Wells Law Firm at 678-223-4975 today or email for a 30-minute consultation.